Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Woodpecker Wednesday

It’s been a month of woodpeckers.  The Red-headed Woodpeckers left town and the Red-Bellied Woodpeckers took over.  There also were the resident pair of Northern Yellow-Shafted Flickers here in the yard for my enjoyment.  I certainly am wild about woodpeckers!  I took these pictures on various days in the past month.  For those of you readers who may be wondering, yes, the pictures are slightly older in recent days.  My Nikon is in the repair shop in Smyrna, Georgia (Near Atlanta) being worked on.  So, I am sharing previously taken and un-posted photogrpahs for a few more days.  The camera had simply been loved and used a lot.  I will be very pleased when it returns back to me so I can share really new pictures with all of you.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Red-Bellied Woodpecker

Red-Bellied Woodpecker

Northern Yellow-Shafted Flicker

Northern Yellow-Shafted Flicker

Red-Bellied Woodpecker

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday" (7)

  1. I am ‘wild’ about woodpeckers also… The only ones I’ve seen around here lately are Downy’s and Red Bellied’s….

    Have a great day.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    as you know, i love the flickers. we’ve had lots of downies and red-bellies around. and each morning i hear the pileateds calling from far-away trees. 🙂

    • Hi TexWisGirl, I have not seen a Pileated in a long time. Used to see them at the lake house but only once in my new neighborhood and did not get a snap-shot of that bird. Yes, I too hope that the repairs go well and that I’ll get the camera back good as new in a week or two. Have a great Thursday!

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    p.s. good luck with the nikon repair!

  4. Love the woodie and the flicker, they are both great birds. I hope you get your camera back soon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

