Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Carolina Chickadees

Little birds such as the Carolina Chickadees are still around in my yard in good numbers.  They are hanging out with the Tufted Titmice, White-breasted Nuthatches and the House Finches.  They are happy to have the bird seed at the feeder.  I think that although I have now been filling the feeder with inexpensive feed from a local discount store, the birds still appreciate the hand-out.  As the saying goes, “Beggars cannot be choosers”.  Ha!  I am saving a small amount of money and the birds are still happy   I took these pictures in my yard on October 19, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Carolina Chickadees" (8)

  1. i think as much seed as we go through for these little ones, if we can save a bit of money, then good for us!

    • Hi Theresa, Well said! Have a wonderful Monday tomorrow!

      • apparently wordpress is no longer notifying us when you post a reply to our comments. i used to get a little comment notification in the upper corner of my screen when i visited a wordpress blog, but for the past few days, nothing. i just came back to see if you were still replying (as you and a few others usually did). but i won’t get the notifications any more, apparently. so unless i look back at previous posts, i won’t know that you responded.

  2. We don’t have the Carolina ones here, just the black-capped, but they are my favorites. I think the ones here now are the ones who will stay for the winter. I was happy last week to see that the price of sunflower seeds here has come back down again too!

    • Hi Montucky, Don’t get me wrong, I am just saving a few bucks on the feed because I was going through the bag quite fast – greedy little birds and lots of ’em! Ha! Glad you have the Chckadees. Glad too, that they will stay all Winter. Have a fine coming week!

  3. Great shots of your cute chickadees. The bird seed has gone up in price, especially the sunflower seeds. I hope you are having a happy Sunday!

  4. Sweet little birds. We’re still waiting for Chickadees (We have Black-capped) to come to our yard and feeders, but I was pretty sure I heard one close by yesterday. I am not quite ready to call it a yard bird until I see one.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

