Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Titmice

There are Tufted Titmice in my yard and boy oh boy are they entertaining little birds.  They are flitting around the porch and some even have flown quite close to me when I was walking up my front steps!  Mostly they are sociable and not terribly wary of people.  The small grey birds have huge personalities and musical whistle songs.  The birds eat several types of insects and lots of different kind of seeds, nuts and fruits.  I know that they love the Black Oil Sunflower Seeds.  They will often sit on the porch railing and crack open the Sunflower Seed shells.  I took these pictures in my yard on October 22, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Titmice" (12)

  1. Hi Linda, We have BUNCHES of Titmice also –and they just ‘flit’ in and out of the feeders all day long… Such cute birds… Great pictures of yours.

    We went to Townsend to the Foothills Parkway yesterday –and loved the colors along the road there.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. so cute!

  3. i think they are some of the prettiest, non-flashy birds we have. such huge eyes, their peach underwing area and soft muted gray with topknot. just precious.

  4. Cute shots of your Titmice. There seems to be lots of them around here too. The are pretty birds. Have a great evening.

    • Hi Eileen, It seems likely that there are more Titmice here now than there were last Fall. Have a great Thursday tomorrow and thanks again for your ever-nice comments!

  5. They are the cutest little things. Wish we had some here!

  6. I am extremely impressed together with your writing skills and also with the format in your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

    • Hi Bingo, I take all of the pictures, write the content and do all of the posts myself. I do this free of charge and use the WordPress free blogging services. I am pleased you enjoy reading the blog and like the photographs. I am a retired teacher and hope people gain help in identifying birds and wildlife and learn from what I offer. Have a great day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

