Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Hungry Hawk

The Red-shouldered Hawk came to stalk birds that were enjoying their daily meal at the bird feeder.  The feeder is next to my front porch.  Luckily for the little birds, the porch offers a lot of shelter when the hawks are around.  The hawk perched in one of the Oaks that are next to the little farm pond.

The hawk was scoping out both the feeder area, and the over-all fields and pond areas.  Hawks will eat mice, gophers, small birds as well as pond critters such as small Coots, ducks, and frogs.  The hawk here got its mouse and the birds were spared.  I took these pictures yesterday afternoon, October 31, 2012, from my living room window.  It  was windy and cold when I took the photos.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Hungry Hawk" (7)

  1. i love these hawks. our most prevalent variety here at run*a*round. i think one took a cardinal the other day.

    • Hi Theresa, Hmm. Sorry about the Cardinal. Today’s bird threat was a medium-sized white and black spotted house cat that visited the yard. Periodically, assorted cats and dogs show up here but the quickly go back to where they belong. Have a wonderful Friday tomorrow!

  2. Luckily, we don’t see hawks much here… I KNOW that they are around –but at least, they aren’t ‘near’ our house or feeders… I love seeing them –and they are beautiful birds–but I don’t want them to enjoy any of my sweet little birdies for their lunch… ha

    • Hi Betsy, Soon you may be lucky enough to see a Bald Eagle flying in the skies over the Glade – especially around lakes St. George and Canterbury. Have a really nice Friday tomorrow!

  3. The hawks are cool visitors and I enjoy seeing them, I just feel sorry for the little birds. Have a great weekend!

  4. A hawk will sure spoil a feeding party! When one appears here all of the small birds disappear into the heavy brush along one side of our property where it is so thick that the hawks cannot get at them.

  5. I don’t see many hawks around here. The only hawk “problem” I have had is one day I came home from work to the most awful screaming sounds. Turns out it was a red tailed hawk trying to kill and drag off one of my full size roosters. I scared the hawk off, but I do think he would have killed the rooster if I hadn’t come along.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

