Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Doves Lined Up

Yesterday morning I took these pictures of a group of Mourning Doves that were all lined up on the electric line next to my home.  I have been seeing a flock of perhaps sixteen Mourning Doves here this past week.  They are quite skittish and will fly away whenever I move about outdoors where they can hear me or see me.  The weather has been cool and rainy so not too many birds have been out.  These doves are all seed and fruit eaters.  They eat native plant seeds and also enjoy the Millet and Sunflower Seeds that drop from the bird feeder.  I took the pictures in my yard from the porch on Nov. 7, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Doves Lined Up" (5)

  1. they look so sweet.

  2. The doves are sweet looking birds, they do like to hang around together. Great shots. Have a wonderful Friday and a great weekend!

  3. Doves really do like to perch on electric lines, don’t they? Always love seeing them.

  4. I suspect that the doves that we enjoyed watching and listening to this summer are relaxing now in the desert of Arizona. Not a bad idea at that.

  5. When we had them at the feeders, they seemed fairly tame. Often, I had no idea one was so close to me until it would fly off. Their “whistling” and flight has caused me to jump out of my skin a time or two. I miss our doves, but hopefully, they’ll be back this spring.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

