Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Handsome House Finches

There have been a few male House Finches here that are just exceptionally handsome in their Salmon-red colored breeding season feathers.  Soon the red will become much duller but for now, wow, are these boys handsome!  The females are similar without the red over-tones.  These finches have been enjoying their bird seed treats of Millet quite a lot.  They also enjoy Niger or Nyger Thistle seeds which I do not have in my feeder.  I took these pictures in my yard yesterday afternoon (Nov. 10, 2012).  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger version of the picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Handsome House Finches" (7)

  1. very pretty, indeed.

  2. Beautiful birds, Linda… I love the males –and that red color. The females just look like BIG Pine Siskins to me…. ha…. Speaking of Pine Siskins, we went out-of-town for 3 days this week –and I put my bird feeders UP while we were gone… AND–so far, the gazillion Pine Siskins have not come back. Hope they don’t…. That was just too many at the feeders –not giving the other birds a chance….

    Windy today!!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Oh yes, was it ever windy! I did not even go out to take any pictures today due to the wind – lots of dust in the air, too. So I will show more of Saturday’s pictures tomorrow.

  3. Linda,your house finches are pretty, especially the males. Have a great evening and a wonderful week ahead.

    • Hi Eileen, Many thanks! I like the rosy color of the male House Finches a lot. Nice to see some birds here, even if they are the same ones over and over. The Winter birds will be along in due time. Have a super Monday tomorrow!

  4. I think you have all of the finches now too! We usually have some this time of year but either they left or haven’t come in yet.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

