Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Lone Eastern Bluebird

I was out looking at the pond, scouting for any and all ducks (none) when I spotted a single Eastern Bluebird sitting on the railing of an old lawn swing.  I am always happy to see bluebirds!  This one looks like it may be a male.  Male Eastern Bluebirds are slightly slimmer and brighter in color than are the females.  These lovely bright blue, orange, and buff-colored birds are insect-eaters.  They hunt for bugs along the shoreline of the pond.

I think that there likely was a female in the trees nearby.  I could hear another bluebird but could not see it.  There is a small flock here, but they have relocated to the woods at the front of the property near the street.  The trees there have more leaves than do the Oaks next to the pond.  I took these pictures on November 10, 2012 in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "A Lone Eastern Bluebird" (10)

  1. Haven’t seen a Bluebird here in awhile. BUT–hopefully they will be back when it gets colder…

    The wind has been so strong that we had to get up at dawn and retrieve our deck umbrella and also the container Roses which were blown all over the yard…. GADS!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, We are having high winds here too. It has been raining lightly as well. Not too many birds out in all that wind, just a few brave House Finches at the feeder. Have a better day tomorrow! Will be chilly but likely not raining then.

  2. they are just pleasant birds to see and hear.

  3. There must be something about seeing a bluebird makes one happy. I am always happy to see bluebirds. Since I had to stop feeding mealworms, they are ignoring my yard and I miss them so much. Great sighting, Linda! Hope you are having a happy day!

    • Hi Eileen, Many thanks! It is a very stormy day with a lot of wind, though not too bad rain-wise. I think that tomorrow will be better for bird-watching. Have a great day!

  4. It seems so strange reading about blue birds this time of year.
    Our finches appeared again today though; glad to see them!

    • Hi Montucky, Our weather is again turning cold so who can say how much longer the Eastern Bluebirds will stay – I hope all Winter but I am no longer so sure. Glad you have finches around. Have a fine Tues. tomorrow!

  5. Lovely! I actually saw a blue bird yesterday. It has been quite a while since I have seen one!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

