Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Tufted Titmice & Doves

Some of the regulars here at the porch-side bird feeder have been the Tufted Titmice. They are intelligent small birds.  If several titmice come to the feeder together, one will serve as a scout and will perch on the roof of the porch or on the porch railing while the others eat.

The titmice seem to also be in league with the Mourning Doves.  The Mourning Doves are so afraid of humans here, they will scatter at the sound of my feet or the sight of me, even when I am quite a distance away from the feeder.  When the doves fly off together, the Tufted Titmouse that the feeder and all of the other titmice, flee!  Quite the early warning system!  Likely needed recently due to visiting house cats and Red-shouldered Hawks in the vicinity.  I took these pictures in my yard on Saturday, Nov. 10, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger version of that photograph.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "The Tufted Titmice & Doves" (15)

  1. Both the Titmouse and the Doves are sweet birds. Cute shots. I hope you are having a lovely Sunday and I wish you a great week ahead.

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I am having a great weekend! My husband’s former student had a super good football game yesterday at Notre Dame. I have become a follower of football due to having watched that player from a High School freshman playing Varsity ball to a really solid runner on the Fighting Irish squad. He will graduate in May so I hope he does find success in the NFL later. So, a good weekend! Sorry for the digression away from wildlife. Ha! Have a great coming week!

  2. they sure are cute little fellows.. thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Great shots of two of my favorite birds… Our Doves haven’t been around lately. Hope they come back soon!!!!

    Have a great Sunday. Beautiful day!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. titmice in league with the doves – too cute. 🙂

  5. I think they are one of the cutest of all birds!

  6. “The titmice seem to also be in league with the Mourning Doves”

    It appears the titmice pays the Doves by dropping some seed on the ground for them. 🙂 That is a great picture catching the seed in mid-air.

    The House sparrows here are so flighty that now most of the calmer birds are taking off with them.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, I think you are right on the money with that thought about the Titmice paying the Doves for their early warning service. Ha! Have a fantastic Monday tomorrow and thanks for the nice comments!

      • Hi again Birding Bunch, Just a thought, I wanted to tell you that I have enjoyed visiting your fine blog! I have not seen any Cedar Waxwings here at my place in months! Hope some from up your way will be traveling soon! Have a great coming week!

      • Hello,
        I wanted to thank you for the comment about my blog. I am so behind on comments and things. I’ve not been feeling the best, but am going to the doctor today. I suspect bronchitis. Thankfully, I’ve been able to do things around the house, though I am a bit slower than normal. I’ve got willing helpers to give me a hand. I hope you have a very nice Thanksgiving.

  7. You have such a wide variety of birds there. Now that winter is here I only have about a half dozen species visiting the feeders (woodpeckers, chickadees, two different varieties of nut hatches, the blue jays … hoping something new visits this weekend while I am home to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

