Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

My Very Favorite Ducks Here

Hen Bufflehead Duck

Bufflehead Ducks are my favorite ducks.  Don’t ask me why but I really love these little black and dark charcoal grey ducks.  The drakes are largely white with black accents and the hess are a reverse with the white being the accent color.  The drakes also have a small hood of white feathered, loose skin that they can raise or lower.  They use this hood to attract females or signal alert or danger.  Buffleheads are migratory Winter visitors here in Cumberland County, TN.  These ducks have just arrived.  They are diving ducks and eat small aquatic mollusks, insects, and tiny fish.  They are extremely wary of people.

I startled this flock yesterday at a local private lake a few miles from my home.  Hopefully we will see a few Buffleheads here at the little farm pond later this Winter.  I took these pictures on Nov. 23, 2012.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "My Very Favorite Ducks Here" (5)

  1. i would love to see some in person. 🙂

  2. I like seeing them too.

    • Hi Montucky, Glad to hear it. I saw about twenty in the flock. I would have gotten good pictures of the ducks paddling but I had made too much noise getting from the car to the lake and startled the birds. They are so shy it does not take much noise or movement and off they go! Have a great Sunday tomorrow!

  3. I love the buffleheads too, they are so pretty. Great shots! Have a Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

