Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Happy New Year!

Mourning Doves

Mourning Doves

"Hank"

“Hank”

I successfully have had both cataract surgeries and can see clearly now (no glasses).   Here are a few pictures I have taken in the last week here at home.  The weather has been cold and cloudy.  It has snowed twice but the snow quickly melted.  I am happy that although the pond had partially frozen (now thawed as of this morning), we still have a few Mallard Ducks, “Hank” the heron, and the Canada Geese.  I also have been seeing a small flock of Eastern Bluebirds, a few House Finches, Mourning Doves, and a Red-bellied Woodpecker.  There are a few Northern Cardinals here at the bird feeder each morning, too!  So, the New Year is starting out quite well!  Happy New Year to everyone!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the gallery of larger pictures (there is a new photo upload system on the blog so let me know if you have any problems seeing the larger picture). Enjoy!

House Finch and Eastern Bluebird

House Finch and Eastern Bluebird

Mallard Ducks

Mallard Ducks

Canada Geese

Canada Geese

Comments on: "Happy New Year!" (12)

  1. Welcome back, Linda. Glad your surgeries were successful and I trust you had a great Christmas. We certainly did. I will post tomorrow.

    Great pictures of your birds. The birds are eating us out of house and home now… It’s fun to watch them.. I did have one bird post in December –and hope to have another one soon.

    Happy New Year.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, We had a great Christmas. I am really thrilled that after forty years I no longer must wear glasses. We had a huge flock of Starlings plus several Eastern Bluebirds here this morning in the rain. Have a Happy New Year and a pleasant coming week!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    congratulations!!! welcome back to blogging again! bless you!!

  3. I am so hapy to hear your eye surgeries went well. Also< happy to see you posting again. Wishing you a happy New Year!

  4. I am so glad it went well! We have been seeing a bird with very long legs flying around over the houses, but are not able to see it enough to identify. When i see these kind of birds i think of you. Happy New Year!!!

  5. Happy New Year! I’m so glad that your eye surgeries went well!

  6. I am glad to see you blogging again and Happy New Year. I am amazed your Great Blue Heron is still visiting. It is so nice when we can have the same birds visit us for so long. I rejoice for you.. No glasses! I’ve had mine since kindergarten and that is a loong time.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Yes, I am once again able to take picture, and better yet, read! Ha! My eyes are A-OK! Have a super nice coming few days and thanks for your loyal and great comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

