Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Yard Birds

White-breasted Nuthatch

White-breasted Nuthatch

Eastern Bluebird

Eastern Bluebird

Sparrow

Sparrow

It’s been cold here.  No snow, just temperatures hovering in the high 20’s’s F, with afternoon temperatures in the mid-to-high 30’s F.  The pond is partially frozen again this morning and frost is all around on the ground. Brrr!  I think even the birds are cold.  Yesterday I saw several Eastern Bluebirds, a small flock of Mallard Ducks, a lone Sparrow (maybe a Song Sparrow but hard to tell from the view shown).  I also am including a photo of a White-breasted Nuthatch that I took on New Year’s Day here at the house.  We had a lone Red-bellied Woodpecker out but I could not manage to get the camera and get myself out on the porch before it flew off.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture in the gallery.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Yard Birds" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    sweet little nuthatch. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, it was! I hope to see it and its friends around in coming days. Have an especially nice weekend and thanks for your always appreciated comments!

  2. First thing I saw this morning was a PIleated Woodpecker at the feeder… It was cold here —about 18 according to our deck thermometer. The birds really love that heated bird bath this time of year… I don’t blame them!!!!

    Great shots of your birds..

    Stay WARM.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I have only seen a single Pileated Woodpecker here and it was down the street in the woods. You are so lucky! Yes, it was very cold here and the pond is still pretty icy. Have a fine weekend!

  3. i always love these sweet little nuthatches!

  4. That’s pretty cold for you, isn’t it? We have also had some cold weather, but the birds all seem to be doing well with it. I keep plenty of food out for them when it’s this cold.

    That’s a nice photo of the nuthatch. We have some of them here this winter too.

    • Hi Montucky, Very cold! Thanks for the compliment on that Nuthatch picture. I took that one from inside my house. I did go outdoors this afternoon to take pictures as it was in the upper 30’s by then. Have a great weekend and thanks for your really great comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

