Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

The Kildeer are Back!

DSC_8254 - 2013-01-06 at 13-17-11

DSC_8265 - 2013-01-06 at 13-18-36

DSC_8269 - 2013-01-06 at 13-19-31

A small flock of Kildeer have arrived on my side of the shore of the pond here.  I was quite happy to notice a pair of these shorebirds yesterday afternoon.  The Kildeer were feeding in the grass just at the edge of the pond alongside several European Starlings.  All were eating insects.  These pictures are not the best I have taken but the birds are pretty small and were a long way from where I was.  I did not want to try to sneak up on the birds because I just knew that the whole bunch would fly off if they saw or heard me approach.  So, I took the pictures from the porch.  It was very cold out so I did not mind quickly snapping the pictures and then going back inside my warm snug home!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger.  Enjoy!

DSC_8257 - 2013-01-06 at 13-17-56DSC_8266 - 2013-01-06 at 13-19-28 (1)

Comments on: "The Kildeer are Back!" (6)

  1. I love Kildeer… Such pretty birds.. I’ve never seen them around here.. Think they must stay closer to the water…

    Cold this morning–but we’re supposed to have a warm-up this week.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Well, ever since the newest discount shop was built at the grocery store complex nearest the Glade, I have seen fewer Kildeer there. They were and maybe still are, on the Southern side of the strip mall next to Food City. Near the side driveway closest to that cattle pasture. I have also seen a few on occasion by the former church now doctor’s office in same shopping area. Hope you’ll see some. Probably easier in Spring. Have a fine day today!

  2. So glad you are seeing Killdeer. When they are here, we’ve seen them forage with the Robins. Last year our first arrived at the tail end of February. It seemed early, but we did have a mild winter.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, I am really surprised to see the Killdeer here since we are having a cold Winter (not much snow this year though). So happy for you that you also have Killdeer where you are. Have a great day today!

  3. I love the cute Killdeer, they are great visitors to see. Hope you have a great week ahead!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, the Kildeer are great birds – very interesting to see when they are protecting their nests in late Spring with their “Wounded bird” act. Have a great day tomorrow and thanks for your always nice comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

