Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Red-tailed Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk

I looked out my front window and saw this Red-tailed Hawk sitting in the Oak tree nearest to the house.  It was eyeballing the bird feeder.  I grabbed my camera and took this picture through my living room window.  I had hoped to go out on the porch and take a picture but when I opened the door, the hawk quickly flew off.  The Red-tailed Hawk likely was trying to see if it could find a small bird, or even a smaller rodent to eat.  I think that if the ducks were out, even they would be prey for this larger hawk.  It was a beautiful bird!  I took this picture on Jan. 6, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Red-tailed Hawk" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    very pretty.

  2. Hawks are pretty –but I’d prefer them to stay far away from my yard… Ha… They ‘love’ Mourning Doves–and I like to keep the Doves around!!!!!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I was not totally unhappy that I accidentally caused that Hawk to fly off. Ha! Have a fine Friday tomorrow! Looks more and more like we will have warmer wet weather in coming days.

  3. This is the kind of hawk that we have the most of around here.

    • Hi Ginny, I have occasionally seen both this type of hawk and the Red-shouldered. I think that the Red-tailed is the more commonly seen one. Have a great Friday tomorrow!

  4. Cool sighting, I guess your birds were happy you scared it off. Great shot! Have a happy weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I am having trouble replying in comments on “Blogger” blogs so I am not purposefully ignoring your excellent blog. Just wanted you to know. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

