Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Tufted Titmice Close-up

DSC_8805 - 2013-01-10 at 14-40-34

The grey Tufted Titmouse is a really neat little songbird.  We have several pairs here that happily for me, come to the bird feeder on a regular basis.  These birds eat seeds, fruits and berries and also certain insects.  They have a musical call and can be rather loud.  The bird is grey with a top-knot crest that it can raise or lower slightly.  Usually when the bird is alert, the crest is way up.  Both genders are alike.  They have huge black eyes which adds to their appeal.  I took these pictures in my yard on Jan. 10, 2013.  The birds were both at the feeder and hiding in the bare  tree branches.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_8807 - 2013-01-10 at 14-40-36

DSC_8775 - 2013-01-10 at 14-37-26DSC_8520 - 2013-01-10 at 13-49-58

Comments on: "Tufted Titmice Close-up" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    really cute.

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, they sure are. Forgive me this later than usual post. My husband and I went out for breakfast and I completely forgot that I had not yet posted. Oh well. Have a super nice coming week!

  2. Hi Linda, Great pictures of that sweet little birdie… Don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have any Tufted Titmice or Nuthatches or Chickadees here to enjoy!!!!

    Happy Sunday to you.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Love the Titmouse, such a pretty bird. Wonderful photos. Hope you have a great week!

  4. They are just adorable!

  5. That is the cutest of all little birds! I sure wish we had a few here!

  6. Darling little birds and great pictures. We just recently got Chickadees coming to our yard, maybe the Titmice will follow. 🙂
    I hope you are having a good start to your week.

  7. Cute little birds. We have lots of them along with the chickadees and finches at our feeders.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

