Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Crows and Buzzards

Turkey Vulture

Turkey Vulture

Buzzards or Vultures along with Common Crows are natures “Clean-up Crew”.  That is a fact of life that is occasionally played-out here in the wide-open spaces where cattle pastures meet ponds and lakes.  I don’t know what the birds had found but certainly like all of us, they have to eat too.  The Crows come in small groups of four or five with one or two staying up in the trees while the others eat in the grass.  The Turkey Vulture showed up yesterday and just flew a circle above the cow pasture and then flew up into the clouds and away.  I took the picture of the Crows on Jan. 1, 2013 from my porch and the picture of the Vulture on Jan. 6, 2013.  Additionally, I took several pictures of the Crows on Jan. 16, 2013 through my living room window.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.

DSC_9163 - 2013-01-16 at 10-27-11

DSC_9125 - 2013-01-16 at 10-07-07

DSC_9183 - 2013-01-16 at 10-37-22 (1)

Turkey Vulture

Turkey Vulture

Common Crows

Common Crows

Comments on: "Crows and Buzzards" (8)

  1. Oh, I really like Turkey Vultures. They left our area in October. I miss them, but understand why. They need to wait until the food softens through decay before they can eat it and in our cold, cold weather their food would just freeze rather than break down. For as big as those birds are, they are not strong enough to eat off of something fresh. I hope that wasn’t too gross to share. 🙂 I enjoy all sorts of trivia about the birds.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, Not at all – I enjoy your interesting comments even when nature becomes rather vivid. Ha! Yes, I can certainly see why frozen carrion would be hard for the Vultures and Crows to eat. Thanks again for the insight. Have a super weekend!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    i like both bunches. very smart birds.

    • Hi Theresa, I had a Red-shouldered Hawk here this AM but I had forgotten to put my memory card back into the camera – hence no pictures. I also saw to my happiness, a couple of Goldfinches. Yes, the buzzards are smarter than people give them credit. Have a great coming weekend!

  3. We always see Turkey Vultures when we go to Arkansas (Mt. Nebo)…. They will clean up most anything left out in nature.. ha…

    Did you get any snow? We got NOTHING at all–not even a flake. Got a tiny bit of Freezing Rain and some sleet—no rain and not much of anything else… Crazy weather!!!!! ha

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Same here – no snow just a wee bit of Graupel or frozen rain/slushy snow. Did not stick at all and the little we got was brief and at night. My husband was in Knoxville this afternoon and they had plenty of snow there yesterday – only 70 miles E. of here. That is OK by me. Have a great weekend!

  4. I do not mind the vultures but the crows seem to be piggies around my feeders. They especially love the suet. I have been seeing huge flights of crows lately.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

