Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_9533 - 2013-01-20 at 11-38-58

This White-breasted Nuthatch came to the bird feeder on Sunday morning.  It then flew up to the porch railing to crack open the Sunflower Seed that it had taken from the feeder.  I am always amazed at the dexterity of these tiny grey black and white birds with their long pointed bill.  They also use their long claws to grab-on to the wooden porch railings, posts, and the bark of trees.

This little guy lives with its mate in a hole in one of the pond-side Oaks not far from the feeder.  If they can, most birds will try to live close to a favored source of food.  Apparently, the birds like the general mix of white Millet and Black Oil Sunflower Seed in my feeder.  That mix is inexpensive (a good thing since I go through a lot of it).  i took the picture from inside my living room window on Jan. 20, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_9534 - 2013-01-20 at 11-38-58DSC_9548 - 2013-01-20 at 11-39-13DSC_9544 - 2013-01-20 at 11-39-10

Comments on: "White Breasted Nuthatch on the Rail" (9)

  1. This is neat, I have a photo of a White-breasted today, too. I really like these birds. They are quite acrobatic. Do you ever see the pair together at the feeder? Only twice have we, but we saw them together another time around our sunflower patch in November.

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    always jealous of these. 🙂

  3. Get the hot soup on the stove for dinner… It’s gonna be a cold night!!!!! Think we may have chili…. YUM…

    I just had a conversation with a nuthatch while on my deck. He was telling me to put out some more nuts for him… SO–I DID!!!! I spoil my birdies!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. In these pictures you can really see how long his bill is in relation to his body.

  5. They are among the most entertaining birds!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

