Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Canada Geese in the Snow

DSC_9913 - 2013-02-02 at 12-13-30 (1)Canada Geese were here yesterday.  The geese fly between the pond here, the nearby little lake and perhaps two other close ponds.  I was surprised to see the geese here in the snow.  I think that maybe these geese feel safe here.  The geese paddled around with a few hardy Mallard Ducks.  I was amused to watch the cows stare at the geese.  Maybe the cows were bored and enjoyed the antics of the waterfowl?  Who knows?  It was snowy off and on all day.  We only ended up with about two inches of snow on the ground.   This morning before I posted here, I watched a foursome of the geese take off toward the lake.  I took these pictures from my front porch on Feb. 2, 2013, and again this morning from my living room window.Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_9928 - 2013-02-02 at 12-14-52 (1)DSC_0017 - 2013-02-03 at 10-58-51

DSC_9896 - 2013-02-02 at 12-12-12

Comments on: "Canada Geese in the Snow" (8)

  1. Hi Linda, After MORE snow last night/this morning, I think this one if over for awhile… We ended up getting alot of snow–but it was spread out and had a chance to melt between snows… Kinda nice!!!!

    Great picture of the geese. Bet they were COLD.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    love that shot of the cow w/ the geese. 🙂

  3. We had snow yesterday and more expected later today and tonight. Love the geese shots, the flight capture is nice and I love the cow/geese photo. Have a happy Sunday!

  4. I almost think that snow geese would be a better name than Canada Geese. After all, I think they never go to Canada!

  5. I like the shot of the flying geese.

  6. The cow cracks me up. When we go on bird walks, often the cows will stop their grazing to just look at us. Sometimes they will even walk up to the fence.

    I am glad you got some snow… but maybe you don’t like it? I always enjoy the white coating, though often the wind blocks us in with the drifts.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, I am sorry for how long this took to appear and be replied-to. It ended up unhappily, in the “Spam” folder – I don’t see how, but I will keep looking at the contents of this file several times daily in order to keep my blog friends from ending up in there. Yes, glad the snow has melted. I am originally from Southern California but have lived in Northern CA and also in East TX for a bit. Now I am in 4 seasons country. Glad you enjoy the cows – I do too. Have a great week and thanks for your outstanding comments!

      • I wonder how I ended up in spam. I am glad you checked. Oh, I am sure that is quite an adjustment coming from the warmer climates. I lived in Nebraska my whole life until we moved here in 2007.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

