Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Chilly Pair of Sparrows

DSC_9696 - 2013-02-02 at 09-39-37

This pair of Sparrows (Savannah?, House?) were happy that I put a little bit of bird seed on my porch railing the other day.  It was a very cold, snowy morning when I saw these birds out of my living room window.  They were up on the porch out of the snow and then I noticed that they flew under the wooden decking of the porch.  They likely were sitting on the ground under the floor boards to get out of the rain and later, snow.  I can’t blame them.  They also enjoyed bird seed out of the bird feeder once I cleared a bit of the snow off of it.

These birds seldom use the bird feeder.  Mostly they eat seeds from native plants here in the pastures and roadside ditches.  I am happy to report that as of this morning,  the snow has melted and the yards are getting greener.  I took these pictures from my living room window on February 2, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the thumbnail image.  Enjoy!

DSC_9769 - 2013-02-02 at 10-05-45DSC_9852 - 2013-02-02 at 10-32-35DSC_9814 - 2013-02-02 at 10-10-38

Comments on: "A Chilly Pair of Sparrows" (6)

  1. Chipping Sparrows maybe?????? We have Chipping at times and yours looks like ours…. Not totally sure though… Beautiful photos.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Thanks for the suggestion as to what these birds are. I think I get quite confused about all the similar-looking sparrows. Glad our snow has melted. Now we can get a bit of outdoor work done. Have a great coming week and thanks again for your always appreciated comments and help.

  2. Yes, these are not house sparrows. I bet they sing beautifully!!!

  3. Definitely not House Sparrows, maybe a Song Sparrow. I’ve been seeing one here lately. I am glad the snow is melting, we are supposed to get a little more tonight. I am so ready for spring. Have a great evening!

  4. I enjoy sparrows too. They are very good at surviving!

  5. Good morning,

    I am glad I didn’t look at this last night. I would have been up trying to figure it out. 🙂 I am pretty sure the top one and the one on the far left are Song Sparrows. I don’t see anything that really sticks out for something else.

    But, looking through the Sibley’s, I think you have a Field Sparrow in the other two pictures. That stout, bright bill and the other markings really rule out other birds. We’ve only ID’ed these by sound up to this point, so this is a great find for you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

