Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Woodpecker Wednesday

DSC_0570 - 2013-02-05 at 14-44-31

There are Red-bellied Woodpeckers in this neighborhood.  One lives in the Oak forest at the front of my place along the street.  Another lives just at the shoreline of the little private community lake across the road.  The third lives in an Oak grove across the road and down the street a little bit.  My resident woodpeckers seem to have moved along towards the street end of the place here.  Oh well.

Come Spring, the Red-headed Woodpeckers and Northern Yellow-shafted Flickers will be back here.  We also may see one or more of the Downy and Hairy Woodpeckers in coming months.  Who can tell?  I sure am happy to have the Red-bellied Woodpeckers around all-year long.  I took these pictures on Feb. 4, 2013 and again on Feb. 5, 2013 in my yard and along the street just in front here.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!  My apologies for this showing up later than usual.  I had thought I posted but I think I left the site too soon and the post was incomplete.  Oops!

DSC_0572 - 2013-02-05 at 14-44-33DSC_0624 - 2013-02-05 at 15-03-05DSC_0632 - 2013-02-05 at 15-03-12

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday" (10)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i’m happy to have them here in texas, too.

    • Hi Theresa, The woodpeckers are interesting chatty entertaining birds for sure. Glad you also get to see the Red-bellied Woodpeckers there in TX. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  2. Love Red-bellied Woodpeckers. They ‘talk’ to me from the trees…..

    Great photos.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. He is so pretty and bright against a winter sky!

  4. I love all the woodpeckers. They are such neat birds to have around! Great post! Have a wonderful evening!

  5. Woodpeckers bring something to the feeders that other birds don’t but I can’t quite define it. I put out a big chunk of tallow that a neighbor gave me and now we have a lot of downey woodpecker visitors, much to my delight.

    • Hi Montucky, Those are darling little woodpeckers! You are fortunate to have them. Good thing you have that suet or tallow out for their treat! Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

