Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Some Robins Have Arrived

These are American Robins.  There were about four of the Robins here the other day.  They are not around much in the Winter here so seeing a few was a big treat.  I took these pictures in my yard on Feb. 5, 2013.  The American Robin is an insect-eating medium-sized bird.  They are members of the Thrushes and not true Robins like those found in Great Britain.  The bird has a bright burnt-orange breast, a grayish-brown back and head and a distinctive broken white ring around each eye.  They have sharp yellow bills.

The male and female Robins really look very much alike, except that the males are a bit brighter in color.  I am amused when I hear Robins as they sound to me very “Blabby”.  The sound is a high-pitched thin and loud sort of “Blab-blabty-blab”.  Quite the vocalist!  I have been seeing more America Robins in other spots around the community so this wave of migration seems to have arrived for this bird.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture,  Enjoy!  P.S.  I just went out and to my amazement, I saw the big flock of American Robins had arrived.  I guess these few birds I saw the other day were the advance scouts.  I will post more pictures of the American Robins tomorrow.  Wildlifewatcher

DSC_0769 - 2013-02-05 at 15-33-36DSC_0776 - 2013-02-05 at 15-36-34DSC_0796 - 2013-02-05 at 15-43-21

Comments on: "Some Robins Have Arrived" (10)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i am always thrilled to hear them – they remind me of my wisconsin home. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, I would imagine that they would remind you of Wisconsin. We also had Robins sometimes in California. Have a great Tuesday tomorrow and thanks for your comments!

  2. We have had tons of robins here now for the last few weeks, I cannot imagine how they are surviving.

    • Hi Ginny, I think that this roller-coaster weather of cold warmer cold, is confusing the migratory birds. Heck, it confuses me!!! Have a great day tomorrow and thanks for your always great comments!

  3. Great shots of your Robin visitors, I thought the Robin in Maryland is a year round bird. But, then I am not sure. Great post, have a lovely evening.

    • Hi Eileen, It may very well be a year around bird in your area. Here I live on the Cumberland Plateau in higher hills (the locals call this area “Mountains” but we are about 1,900 ft. so not too mountainous in reality). Have a fine day tomorrow!

  4. They must be stopping by on their way further north. We had even had several in the past few days.

  5. That looks so spring-like! Haven’t seen any here yet. They don’t usually show up until some time in march.

    • Hi Kateri, I would imagine that your area does stay a lot cooler for a longer period. Glad you will look forward to your Robins coming back home. Have a wonderful day tomorrow and thanks for your always welcome and appreciated comments!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

