Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

More Robins

DSC_1081 - 2013-02-11 at 09-52-33

American Robins have arrived here in my neighborhood.  I had seen just a few the other day and posted about those birds here yesterday.  As it turned out, many more birds joined the advanced scouts soon afterward.  I also spoke too soon when yesterday I described their calls as having characteristics vaguely similar to that of a Blackbird’s call.  I’ll “Eat crow” on that one.  Ha!  Guess what birds were among the flock of American Robins?  Yes, several Red-winged Blackbirds.  So, moral of the story is:  If it sounds a little like a certain bird, well, just maybe it is that other bird (mockingbird calls excepted).  I saw about fifty to sixty American Robins in my yard yesterday morning.  There also were a lot of European Starlings here too.  I took these pictures on Feb. 11, 2013 in my yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_1057 - 2013-02-11 at 09-50-35

DSC_1030 - 2013-02-11 at 09-47-47

DSC_1034 - 2013-02-11 at 09-47-54

DSC_1072 - 2013-02-11 at 09-51-25DSC_1071 - 2013-02-11 at 09-51-20DSC_1070 - 2013-02-11 at 09-51-19

Comments on: "More Robins" (6)

  1. VERY good pictures! Robins are so tame that they make a great photo subject, they let you get so close. I have never been able to snap a red winged blackbird! They stand on top of tall reeds on the side of country road and fly away when they see me.

    • Hi Ginny, Many thanks. Yes taking pictures of the Red-winged Blackbirds is hard – I am usually a long way off when I snap the photographs. Have a great Wed. tomorrow!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    they’re just beautiful.

  3. Beautiful shots of the Robins! They seem to come and go here. Very Fickle birds, LOL! Have a great evening!

  4. The robins are looking very good for the start of their northerly trip!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

