Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Seeing Starlings

DSC_1350 - 2013-02-14 at 16-22-45 (1)

European Starlings have been here off and on all year.  I am fortunate in that their numbers in my yards vary from just a few dozen to about two hundred.  They never seem bothersome at all.  They graze in the grass, and usually perch on in the Oaks.  Once in a while, I will see the European Starlings perch on the electric lines.  These birds eat just about any grains, and fruits.  They also like grubs and earthworms.  I took these pictures of the beautiful iridescent black-blue and brown birds in my yard.  The Starlings were out with all the American Robins in my pasture the other day.   Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_1308 - 2013-02-14 at 15-14-38DSC_0975 - 2013-02-07 at 16-36-49DSC_1344 - 2013-02-14 at 16-22-07

Comments on: "Seeing Starlings" (5)

  1. HI all, after this post today, I will be offline for a few days. See you right here in a few. Wildlifewatcher.

  2. Saw another one at my feeders this morning, Linda… Usually they come in flocks–but so far, not many here.

    Have fun on your days off.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. TexWisGirl said:

    cute title!

  4. They do have a pretty iridescence to them. And I like watching the babies with the parents, the babies are so much bigger, yet still begging to be fed.

  5. I like them too. There was a flock of them just up the valley a ways yesterday.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

