Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Fresh From My Camera

Ring-necked Duck

Ring-necked Duck

Eastern Bluebird

Eastern Bluebird

Canada Geese

Canada Geese

 

I am at my little farm home in TN.  Here are some photographs I have just taken several minutes ago (February 27, 2013).  I hope you enjoy seeing the Sand Hill Cranes, lone Ring-necked Duck drake, the lively Canada Geese, and the stunningly beautiful male Eastern Bluebird in flight.  The Sand Hill Cranes are making their way back up North and likely there are thousands making the trip.  We have seen several waves of flocks.  The Cranes will mill around in the sky in groups waiting on the next division of the big flock to catch up.  That is why some groups in my photographs are not flying in the regular “V” flight formation.

The Ring-necked drake (male) duck has been around here several times and comes and goes between the nearby lake and this pond.  The geese live here but also go over to the lake often.  I will be in TN for several days packing up the house so you will still be seeing pictures from TN while I am here.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Sand Hill Cranes

Sand Hill Cranes

Sand Hill Cranes

Sand Hill Cranes

Sand Hill Cranes

Sand Hill Cranes

Comments on: "Fresh From My Camera" (11)

  1. I cannot see the ring on the ring necked duck, maybe it is buried under his feathers.

  2. glad you made it back to TN! nice catch on the bluebird in flight, and the geese look very happy on the pond.

    • Hi Theresa, Thanks! The Canada Geese got highly agitated when the Sand Hill Cranes showed up. Much honking started when the cranes were directly over the cow pasture and pond. Like the geese were claiming their territory. Interesting to see and hear. Have a great day!

  3. Great photos, Linda. I’m sure you will miss alot of things about our wonderful state. I used to live in FL –and choose TN anytime… I don’t like the heat –and when I lived there, I missed the gorgeous Falls, Springs –and just season-changes in general. BUT–that’s just ME. I am a crazy Winter-lover!!!!! ha

    Hope you enjoy your new environment.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. Great post, I love the bluebird. And I would love to see the Cranes in flight. Very cool! Have a happy day and week ahead!

  5. Will you pack up Hank and take him with you?

  6. The bluebird is so beautiful!

  7. What a great shot of the Bluebird!

  8. Love the blue bird! It looks like it flying right out of that blue background. I still haven’t seen any sandhill cranes yet. That is unusual around here.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

