Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Cold Kestrel

DSC_1609 - 2013-03-03 at 16-44-37

This Kestrel falcon is likely one of a pair that had been here about a month ago.  I snapped these pictures yesterday afternoon in my yard at the little farm in Tennessee.  It sure was a cold day.  I think that it was about 32 degrees F. (0 degrees C.) outside.   It had snowed the day before and there was a crust of snow still on the ground.  I took the pictures from my cozy living room because I did not want to disturb the bird and also because I generally dislike cold weather!

This bird is one of the smallest of the falcons.  It is a bird of prey and eats small rodents, lizards, larger insects and songbirds.  I no longer have a bird feeder up since I will be moving soon.  I think that this bird had to really hunt to find a meal.  It gave up after just a few moments and flew away.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_1607 - 2013-03-03 at 16-44-25DSC_1624 - 2013-03-03 at 16-46-40

Comments on: "A Cold Kestrel" (4)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    love these tiny hawks.

  2. I’ve seen a kestrel–but none near my home here. All of the birds around here were COLD all weekend… Guess you are glad you are moving to Florida –after this weekend… ha

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. They are cool little birds. I hope to see some up here again this summer.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

