Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

My Favorite Ducks

DSC_1752 - Version 2 - 2013-03-04 at 15-21-01

These Bufflehead Ducks were on both a small pond-sized lake and also on the larger lake in my former neighborhood in Cumberland County, Tennessee.  The drake is the white and black one and the hen is the charcoal-grey and white one.  They are very small diving ducks.  These ducks are also very wary of people.  The single drake was on the small lake and the pair was on the large lake.  I was happy to catch the pair in flight.

The Bufflehead Ducks are migratory Winter visitors to Tennessee.  They are found in many places throughout North America during the late Spring through the end of Summer.  These ducks were here with the Red-head Ducks and behave in similar ways.  They mostly eat aquatic plants but also will enjoy aquatic insects.  I took these pictures from the street and from the dock at my lake house on March 4, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

DSC_1756 - Version 2 - 2013-03-04 at 15-21-05DSC_1702 - 2013-03-04 at 15-11-47DSC_1757 - 2013-03-04 at 15-21-05

Comments on: "My Favorite Ducks" (8)

  1. I really like the shot of the duck in flight. We’re duck hunters, but I still enjoy watching wildlife, in and out of season. We never saw any buffleheads (that I know of), or redheads. A lake near us would have upwards of 500 ducks in the middle where hunters couldn’t reach them, so there may have been some there. Next season I will need to take binoculars and start doing birdwatching when there isn’t anything to do in the blind 🙂

  2. I still have never seen a real one. Only in my dreams and your blog…

    • Hi Ginny, Well, I sure do hope you’ll see some. They are my favorites because of their beauty, aloofness, and personality. Have a great weekend!

  3. I like the Buffleheads too, great sighting and photos!

    • Hi Eileen, Hope your snow was not too bad. We have finally had a slightly warmer, but sunny day here in Cumberland County, TN. Glad you also like Buffleheads. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Very pretty ducks with a rather strange name.

  5. I love these little fellas, so cute! And very comical when they come in for a landing, they make me laugh alot.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

