Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Two Great Blue Herons

DSC_1770 - 2013-03-04 at 15-21-58DSC_1773 - 2013-03-04 at 15-21-59DSC_1776 - 2013-03-04 at 15-22-03

The day I was taking all of the pictures of ducks on the lake where I used to live, I was thrilled to spot a pair of Great Blue Herons flying across the lake.  I think all three of the pictures here are of the same bird since the first bird was really quick and I was fumbling with the camera.   I seldom used to see herons on this lake at all.  I am happy that there are now a pair living around the area (even though I no longer reside there).

There are several lakes within the neighborhood in that resort so there is plenty of area for the Great Blue Herons to hunt fish, turtles, frogs, and larger aquatic insects.  I took these pictures on March 4, 2013 from my dock at the lake house.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!   I am going to be taking a break from blogging for several days so I look forward to posting again from sunny and oh-so-warm, Florida.

Comments on: "Two Great Blue Herons" (4)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i hope they will be a pair!

  2. They are such beautiful birds! How exciting that there is a pair.

  3. Wow, these are awesome!!! I have never been able to capture much of ANYTHING flying, it is SO hard! I love the big yellow feet hanging in the back.

  4. Love you herons, is one of these Hank? Have a safe trip to Florida. Looking forward to seeing some photos of your new yard.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

