Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_1985 - 2013-03-24 at 13-13-21These may be Yellow-rumped Warblers.  I am not totally sure but that is my best guess.  They may be in their Winter feathers and also may have been females.  I recently saw a small flock of these tiny birds in several yards along my street here in Florida.  There was a pair that were perched on the eves of one of the homes, that were trying to hunt for insects along the rain gutters (also known by many as eve’s troughs).  They were flitting around a lot.  My street has many stately large Oaks, Magnolias, Sycamores, and Pines, so I will expect to see birds around, in addition to the ever-fun squirrels.  I took these pictures in my yard here in Florida, on March 24, 2013.  The weather had been rainy and very windy.   I am going to post on Monday’s, Wednesday’s and Friday’s for the next several months.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!  P.S.  Blog friend TexWisGirl, has mentioned that she believes these may be Palm Warblers.  I’ll go with that.

DSC_1989 - 2013-03-24 at 13-13-42DSC_1997 - 2013-03-24 at 13-14-01DSC_1996 - 2013-03-24 at 13-14-00

Comments on: "Yellow-rumped Warblers? Probably Palm Warblers!" (10)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i think they are palm warblers! i’ve never seen a yellow-rumped with any chestnut on their heads. these are great!

    • Hi Theresa, I did think that they did not completely look like the Yellow-rumped Warblers I had seen up in Tennessee. Thanks for the tip – I so appreciate it! Have an excellent day!

  2. You will show us many different birds where you are now… First CA, then TN, and now FL—you will see tons of different birds at all of those places.

    I’ll bet you are you glad to be there today –instead of here. It’s snowing and cold…. Can’t believe we have had such a cold March this year. When I compared it to last year, there’s a HUGE difference. I wonder if we’ll go straight from winter to summer here this year… Gads!!!! ha

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, It has even cooled a little here but we are in the upper 60’s during the day. It agrees with me. Hope you have a warmer day tomorrow and that your flowers do OK.

  3. Warblers are my weak point! I cannot tell one from the other. Welcome back!!!

  4. It is good to see you posting again. I think you have two different birds here. The first two are definitely Palm with the rusty crown, but the two at the gutter look like Yellow-rumped still in winter clothes. The yellow spots under the wings are a field marking for them, Palms do not have this.

  5. Lucky you! Theresa is right on, I agree with Palm Warblers. They are so cute. I hope you love your new place in Florida! I would be tickled with all the new birds. Have a great evening and a happy week!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, I love Florida so far. Different than TN but slightly similar to California where I was raised and lived for many years. There seem to be a lot of these Warblers around and a lot of large birds, too. Have a great day tomorrow and thanks for your nice comments.

  6. Good to see that you have made the move and are back blogging again! Now you will likely have a new array of critters… and much warmer weather!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

