Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Grey Squirrels in FL

DSC_1984 - 2013-03-24 at 13-12-25

These are some of the first pictures I have taken here in my new neighborhood in Florida.  We live on a tree-lined street where there are not only large Oak Trees, but there are also Sycamores, Magnolias, and Pines.  There seems to be a lot of Grey Squirrels around here.  The squirrels seem used to the presence of people.  In one picture, I was standing just about ten feet away from the squirrel that was standing still,  but not terrified.  I am also seeing a lot of different birds here so I will be showing some bird photo’s in coming days.  I took these pictures in my yard on March 24, 2013.  I plan to post here on Monday’s, Wednesday’s and Friday’s for the coming few months.  I am getting to know the neighborhood, setting up the house and also exploring the greater region.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_1957 - 2013-03-24 at 13-01-15DSC_1950 - 2013-03-24 at 13-00-36DSC_1943 - 2013-03-24 at 12-57-33

Comments on: "Grey Squirrels in FL" (10)

  1. Hope you are enjoying your new home. I’m sure you are. We had several days of snow and dreariness and cold temps… Schools were closed Monday and Tuesday. BUT–today, the sun came out —and it was great seeing the blue skies… Still cold though –at least the wind!!!! But–I’m not complaining…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Even cool here – wore a jacket last 2 days when out. No, I don’t miss the Winter weather but do miss ducks and geese. I live in a housing tract located in an Oak and Pine forest near a very large ranch. The local park does have a large pond filled with Koi goldfish. Have a wonderful and hopefully much warmer day tomorrow!

  2. Good to see you have a new friend in your new area! THere’s so much to do in a move, isn’t there!

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, we have a little still to do in getting the home set up the way we want it to look and function. I do plan to snap some more pictures in coming days. Have a super nice day tomorrow!

  3. Really great photos of squirrels in different poses!

    • Hi Ginny, Thanks a bunch! The squirrels live in the front yard Oaks. They are entertaining! No, I don’t give them treats of any kind. I do have a fun tee shirt with the caption, “Bird seed, what bird seed?” on it with a picture of three squirrels. Ha! Have a great day today and a most pleasant day tomorrow!

  4. Cute squirrel shots! I am glad you are settling in! I am looking forward to seeing some shots of your yard and neighborhood too. Wishing you a happy day!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I think the squirrels here are a lot of fun to watch. I sure will post a few shots of the flora along with all that fauna around. Have a fine day today and another good one tomorrow!

  5. TexWisGirl said:

    wow, you moved quickly! these squirrels are very cute welcomers. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, our move was a fast one. My hubby wanted the warmer climate and golf, swimming and such. I can’t complain at all – much warmer here and pleasant neighbors, too! All good! Have a really good day today and a great one tomorrow, too!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

