Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Trio of Crows

DSC_2018 - 2013-03-28 at 10-52-59

There seems to be a lot of Common Crows here in the area where I now live in Florida.  I live in a small city where large horse farms are also present along with many housing developments.  I do not live on a large property as I used to, but rather I live in a retirement resort development with lots of condominium row homes, small parks and golf courses.  My neighborhood has established large trees lining the streets with many grass lawns.

Because this housing development borders a large cattle ranch, there are lots of larger birds such as Common Crows, and Turkey Vultures around .  These Crows here in my pictures were sitting on various rocks, lawns, and low tree limbs across the street from my home.  The Crows were trying to find a quick bite to eat.  One was exploring the curb area of the street for any possible insects or lizards that may be found.  I took these pictures on March 28, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  I am wishing you a most happy Easter!

DSC_2035 - 2013-03-28 at 10-53-48DSC_2014 - 2013-03-28 at 10-52-38DSC_2010 - 2013-03-28 at 10-46-06 (1)

Comments on: "A Trio of Crows" (10)

  1. Crows are unbelievably smart and can make tools to use to get food. I recently watched a PBS special on them.

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    oh, glad you still have open space and farms nearby!

    • Hi Theresa, The main reason we came here was that it is inland. The second reason is that there seems to be a rural feel even though we are several miles from a small city. That is due to golf courses and the many large farms/ranches here. Have a great Easter!

  3. Gosh—I’d be looking around for other things to photograph if I had crows —and then squirrels… You just THOUGHT they were all in Tennessee.. ha ha… Not sure I have EVER taken a picture of a crow —or a squirrel for that matter… ha ha

    Hope things are going well.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, These were what was around in sight and easy to take pictures of. I am easing into walking around with the imposing-looking big camera lens. Don’t want to have anyone feeling odd about my taking pictures. I’m new. Yes, there are other critters here beside Alligators and such! Have a wonderful Easter!

  4. Sounds like a nice community. I have lots of crows and vultures here too. Have a Happy Easter and a great weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, Very nice community with loads of recreational amenities. I also appreciate that the neighborhood has established large trees with lawns and small park-like green spaces. Have a great Easter!

  5. Have a great Easter weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

