Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_2046 - 2013-03-30 at 09-02-22

Happily I saw several beautiful Eastern Bluebirds flitting around several nearby homes in my back yard area.  I live in a neighborhood of row houses so the back yard areas are fairly open.  One neighbor has a bird feeder and a nice wooden patio fence where the Bluebirds like to perch.  In a touching scene, a Father Bluebird was tenderly feeding an older juvenile a tasty morsel of caterpillar.  I also saw one of the Bluebirds perched low in the large Sycamore Tree in my own back yard.  The trees are just now filling out with their new leaves.

Male Bluebirds are the more brightly colored of the genders.  The juveniles tend to be more on the brownish-side until they are nearly fully grown.  The Bluebirds are wonderful insect catchers!  These royal blue, orange and buff-colored birds are interesting to watch, useful, and rather happy birds.  I am over-joyed to see them here!  I took these pictures on March 30, 2013 in my back yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_2047 - 2013-03-30 at 09-04-35

DSC_2056 - 2013-03-30 at 09-05-10

DSC_2051 - 2013-03-30 at 09-04-38

DSC_2062 - 2013-03-30 at 09-06-13DSC_2069 - 2013-03-30 at 09-07-50DSC_2067 - 2013-03-30 at 09-07-21

Comments on: "Gorgeous Eastern Bluebirds" (10)

  1. Oh, I do love the Bluebirds. So glad you have them at your new home. Great shots. I hope you are settling now and enjoying your new place. Have a happy day!

  2. TexWisGirl said:

    so glad you have your beauties there, too!

  3. Your feeding pictures are excellent!!!! i love the first two ones! And the other picture, the bluebird is pointed straight upward like a rocket…never seen such a thing.

    • Hi Ginny, I think that the little bird was chasing after a flying insect. Glad you like the set of pictures. I had fun going outside and taking the photo’s. Have a good Tues. tomorrow!

  4. Glad you have bluebirds down there!!!! I know how much you enjoy them.. I bought mine some Mealworms… Spoiling them for sure!!! ha
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  5. They were welcoming you to your new home!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

