Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Titmice in a Tree

DSC_2183 - 2013-04-07 at 13-29-24

This pair of Tufted Titmice were very loudly singing while perched in the shady branches of the Magnolia Tree in my front yard.  I spotted these birds doing something that I had never seen before.  They flew over a short distance from the tree to the roof of my home and lay face-down with their wings spread out.  The birds looked absolutely dead.  After a few moments, first one got up and flew back to the Magnolia and then the other did the same thing.  Perhaps they had been preening or had used the bird bath that is in my neighbor’s yard.    I took the pictures in my front yard yesterday, April 7, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_2178 - 2013-04-07 at 13-28-58

DSC_2180 - 2013-04-07 at 13-29-20

DSC_2186 - 2013-04-07 at 13-29-28

DSC_2188 - 2013-04-07 at 13-29-31DSC_2193 - 2013-04-07 at 13-30-34DSC_2190 - 2013-04-07 at 13-30-12

Comments on: "Titmice in a Tree" (8)

  1. TexWisGirl said:

    i’ve seen them do that here on warm days – i’m wondering if it is a way to kill mites with sunshine.

  2. That is quite interesting. It almost looks like the anting behaviour, but I’ve only seen birds do this on the ground. That is neat you got a photo of its preen gland of the first one one the roof. 🙂

    I hope you are enjoying your new home. We’ve been a bit busy, so I haven’t commented much recently.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, I know that feeling. My house is still not completely unpacked, organized and made the way I eventually would like it to look. Everything will happen, eventually! : )
      Have a super great day and thanks for your always nice comments!

  3. What interesting behavior for those birds!

  4. Fascinating! I’m going to guess that they were sunning themselves too. I saw a Flicker do that once on a picnic table, it really looked like the bird was enjoying the sun bath!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

