Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Crows Can Be Smart!

DSC_2205 - 2013-04-11 at 14-26-05

I watched a Common Crow take a large Night Crawler earthworm and dunk it repeatedly in my next door neighbor’s bird bath to clean the tasty morsel before eating it.  This behavior is showing me that yes, the Common Crows and their cousins the Ravens, are very smart birds!  Of course, the bird did not relish the taste of garden soil with its worm (yes some soil or grit is needed but I think taste prevailed in this case).  The answer was to wash the worm off.  Since the rainfall water retention pond across the street did not have any water in it when I took these pictures yesterday (April 11, 2013), the bird used the bird bath to do its kitchen work!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_2206 - Version 2 - 2013-04-11 at 14-26-07DSC_2222 - 2013-04-11 at 14-26-39DSC_2223 - 2013-04-11 at 14-26-40

Comments on: "Crows Can Be Smart!" (8)

  1. too cute! slurping like spaghetti!

  2. When he was growing up, Phil had a pet crow and he was very smart!! Wish I would have seen this, what fun!

    • Hi Ginny, These Crows are terrific! My neighbor’s birdbath is very popular now that the weather has turned very warm. Many different birds are bathing. Have a great weekend!

  3. Yes, they are very smart, and fun to watch when you can!

    • Hi Montucky, I don’t have a good knowledge about the native and visiting birds here in my new neighborhood yet, but I can say I have seen plenty of Common Crows here! Same with Turkey Vultures. Saw a Carolina Wren, too, yesterday! Have a wonderful weekend and thanks for your nice comment!

  4. They are smart birds, great post and sighting. Glad your neighbors birdbath is close to you. Have a happy day!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, the yards are small so everyone is pretty nice about the birds here. I did have my newly planted pots of begonias dug-up by those ever-so-adorable Grey Squirrels a couple of days ago. Not so happy about it but I should have known. The squirrels did not eat the flowers but were burying acorns. Oh well…
      Have a great coming week!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

