Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_2706 - 2013-05-01 at 14-47-13

DSC_2672 - 2013-04-28 at 16-51-44

DSC_2686 - 2013-05-01 at 13-43-35

There are lots of Grey Squirrels in this neighborhood.  The streets here have many larger trees that are perfect squirrel habitat.  These squirrels eat acorns, berries, seeds and some insects.  The squirrels here have been up on my front porch several times.  I recently had a squirrel climb all the way up the screen on one of my living room windows!   The squirrel likely was chasing a bug but it may also have been curious about the happenings inside the house.  This type of squirrel gymnastics is a startling thing to experience when one is sitting on the sofa inside.

The squirrels have been uprooting my potted plants by trying to bury acorns within the soft dirt.  I am hopeful that the squirrels will stay out in the yard where they belong!  I am not interested in hurting the squirrels and will simply discourage the squirrels from porch sitting.  So, shoo squirrel, shoo!  On the plus side, squirrels are pleasant for the most part, and are very entertaining!  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

P.S. My thoughts and prayers are with those in Southern California who are affected by the terrible brush fires there.  I am thankful for those fighting the fires and providing related assistance.

DSC_2674 - 2013-04-28 at 16-52-43

DSC_2660 - 2013-04-22 at 16-13-32DSC_2678 - 2013-05-01 at 13-40-34

Comments on: "Squirrels Being Squirrels" (8)

  1. oh, they can be such monsters! good thing they’re cute!

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, they are. I have not mentioned that one little squirrel has decided to chew on my redwood tete-a-tete table and chair set on the front porch here. Oh well… Have a great day tomorrow and a nice weekend!

  2. Oh my, you have gotten all kinds of very cute poses!!! We have many squirrels, as well, but I have not been able to get such a good variety of shots, i will need to try harder.

    • Hi Ginny, I guess I just take lots and lots of snap-shots and choose several to put on the blog. You have a super blog and take very nice pictures. You’ll get those photographs that you want soon. Be encouraged! Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. They certainly are entertaining! We have just one here. She has been with us all winter and has caused very little trouble so far.

    • Hi Montucky, I sure do think that squirrels are fun. Glad you have a squirrel there where you live. Glad it does not cause any trouble. Ours are happy little pests at times. Ha! Have a good Sunday tomorrow!

  4. They may be cute, but those squirrels are rascals. I hope they do not ruin your plants. have a happy weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, they are! I have been hearing neighbors tell stories of uprooted potted plants all down the street. Oh well…
      Have a great Sunday tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

