Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wordless Wednesday

American White Ibis

American White Ibis

Male Eastern Towhee

Male Eastern Towhee?

I took these pictures on May 6. 2013 and again on May 7, 2013 in my community here in Marion County, Florida.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Great Blue Heron Chicks

Great Blue Heron Chicks

Grey Squirrel

Grey Squirrel

Loggerhead Shrike

Loggerhead Shrike?

Canada Goose

Canada Goose

Comments on: "Wordless Wednesday" (6)

  1. oh, i’d love to see a shrike!

    • Hi Theresa, It is a very unusual-looking bird with a black stripe on its face and is just smaller than a dove. I believe it to be a small type of bird in the hawk family. I saw it for just a moment while it was on the ground and then it flew off. Hope you’ll get to see one. Have a pleasant Thurs. tomorrow!

  2. Wow you got a Heron’s nest! I have never seen a Shrike, but I saw a Towhee once and mistook it for a robin. I believe the shrikes are vicious hunters?

    • Hi Ginny, Yes, I will be doing a blog post this coming Friday on the heron’s nests. As for the Shrike, I have never before seen one so this is a life-time first for me. I think that this particular bird had hunted and had some type of food in its beak when I snapped its picture. Have a wonderful Thursday tomorrow!

  3. Wow, you have some of your old friends and some neat new ones! That’s pretty cool!

    • Hi Montucky, Well said! Thanks! Very comforting to see so many of the familiar birds and animals here. New types are interesting, too. Have a super good day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

