Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

An Eastern Towhee

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (2)

This Eastern Towhee was perched in a low native shrub just off the roadway.  It was partially obscured by tall grass.  This bird was likely trying to find some tasty seeds to eat.  The Towhee was seen in the same area near where I spotted the colony of Red-headed Woodpeckers.

Eastern Towhees are black, brown, orange, and white.  The females have more brown than black.  These birds have either dark yellow or orange eyes.   The Eastern Towhees largely eat fruit, nuts and seeds but will also eat insects once in a while.  I took these pictures on June 2, 2013 along a roadway just outside of the development here where I now live.  The day was cloudy and I took the photographs late in the afternoon.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (3)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (5)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (4)

Comments on: "An Eastern Towhee" (10)

  1. that’s awesome! i’ve never seen one in person.

    • Hi Theresa, I hope you’ll get to see them. They are bright and handsome birds. I saw a few up in TN a couple of years ago in Winter at the lake house but I have seen several here in my new area. Have a wonderful Sat. tomorrow!

  2. They are pretty birds, I love their coloring. I usually here them before I see them!
    Great shots, have a happy weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, I also like seeing the wonderful colors that these birds have. Now, if only I could find a Painted Bunting or even an Indigo Bunting. Ha! Have a fantastic weekend!

  3. Hi all, We came out very well in yesterday’s Tropical Storm Andrea. I live in Marion County, FL which is inland about 60 miles. Just had a lot of rain and approx. 20 MPH winds here. I am thankful that we had no damage or trouble at all.

  4. Hi Linda, The Towhee is a beautiful bird. I’ve seen them in NC –but not here. They may be around here –but I have never seen or heard them. They are a very unique call…

    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  5. Good pictures! I have only ever seen one once, from a distance. I mistook it for a robin.

  6. They are very pretty birds. We have the Spotted Towhee here and they are very welcome all year long.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

