Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (6)

The small flock of American White Ibises has returned to feed in the lush lawn of the rainfall retention basin across the street from my home.  These beautiful big wading birds have been here several times.   The Ibises mostly live in both coastal and inland wetlands.  The area where I live is about twenty five miles from several river wetland areas, and about sixty miles from both the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean.

The Ibises were browsing along the edge of the partially filled basin.  There are lots of worms and grubs plus larger insects in and around the basin.  The storm water is channeled from the street to these neighborhood basins in order to replenish the Florida Aquifer and to minimize potential minor flooding during heavy storms.  The Ibises flew in for about an hour and then one by one, flew off to other areas.  My neighbors and I really enjoy seeing the Ibises.  I took these pictures on June 7, 2013 and June 8, 2013 from the street and from my driveway.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (7)

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (9)

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (8)

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (10)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (12)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (11)

Comments on: "The Return of the Ibises" (12)

  1. so cute to see them cruising around.

    • Hi Theresa, Ibises are very fun to see. I am glad that these birds occasionally visit in the neighborhood. Up-close and personal. Have a fine Tues. tomorrow!

  2. I loved seeing the ibis during my trip, they are cool birds! Great shots! Have a happy week ahead!

  3. These are a very impressive bird to see. i love the way their beaks start as orange and turn to black. And i notice the babies beaks do not do that yet, they are so cute! I have never seen a baby ibis!

    • Hi Ginny, I have not seen a juvenile Ibis either. Yes, the tip of their bill may become somewhat black – I don’t know if this is natural or just discoloration from the bird pushing its bill into soil a lot. Who knows? Have a great Tuesday tomorrow!

  4. I can see how they are fun to watch! Sure different from anything we have here.

  5. The Ibises are such gorgeous birds… Glad they are visiting your area. You got some great photos. We have had tons of rain up here this spring –and it just continues.. The flowers and plants love it!!!!! Don’t think I can ever remember a rainier spring –at least since we moved here in 2003.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  6. Great captures! I had always wanted to see these and finally got to last fall down in South Carolina while on vacation, got some photo ops too. Wish they’d visit us in the summer up here on the Chesapeake Bay!

  7. How fun to have a body of water so close to you. I would love to just sit and photograph whoever drops by, too.

    • Hi Candace, The rainfall retention pond was completely dry for the first two months I have been here (now three months). I think it drains pretty fast but does now have about 6″ of water in it since it has been raining off and on much of the week. I do try to take pictures of the critters around the basin often. That basin is across the street from my home. Thanks for the neat comment! Have a super weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

