Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Crows-A-Plenty!

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (52)

Common Crows are, well, common around here!  I live in a pleasant neighborhood of tree-lined streets where there are a lot of places where birds of many sizes live around the houses.  The neighborhood has been here about thirty years with tall Oaks, Pines, Sycamores, and Magnolia Trees on nearly each street.  Food for the Crows is also plentiful as are water sources.   The Crows have a good life here and so do the resident people, I might add!

Crows are smart and are excellent at defending their own nesting and feeding territory.  The other day (and I wish I had my camera then but alas I was swimming), I watched a group of Crows chase an Osprey away from the Crow’s nesting tree.    The Common Crows here are huge.  No, they are not Ravens.  Just jumbo-sized Crows.  Like I mentioned, these birds have plenty around to eat.  I took these pictures here on my street on several days this month.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (53)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (55)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (54)

Comments on: "Crows-A-Plenty!" (9)

  1. i love these intelligent birds – even when they’re loud. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Well, you just would have loved being here this AM when the association’s mowing crew started working. Lots of Crows – and a Cattle Egret following the mowers around. It just was noisy and comical! Have a great day today and a most pleasant weekend!

  2. The crows are smart birds. I see a few in my yard and at my feeders! Great post , have a happy weekend!

    • Hi Eileen, Crows seem to be rather common as their name suggests. Ha! The Crows are noisy, interesting, intelligent and sometimes sneaky. Fun to watch at times. Have a great day and a fine weekend!

  3. I had thought one of them looked a bit like a raven. Do they wake you up cawing in the morning? We have quite a few around here, they stay pretty quiet unless something threatens them.

    • Hi Ginny, Yes, almost every morning a Crow just spends a lot of energy cawing outside next to the house. Sometimes that bird has replies, too! Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Interesting, their being around houses. The crows here stay well away from the houses, preferring the taller trees.

  5. Wow, they even chased an Osprey! Kudos to the crows’ bravery to protect their home! I watched a flock of crows all sitting around an Osprey once, waiting & hoping the Osprey was going to drop the fish he was eating. He didn’t AND didn’t like them hanging around him, so the Osprey let out a loud scream and they took flight immediately & left. I wondered what he said to them, lol.

    • Hi Donna, I don’t know but that sure would be interesting. I think that the Crows just ganged up on that poor Osprey and with greater numbers trying to harass it, the Osprey gave up. Perhaps after seeing little food around that Crow’s nest? Who can tell. Have a super nice Wed. tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

