Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (56)

A young adult Pileated Woodpecker visited the Oak Trees in my front yard and my next-door neighbor’s yard yesterday morning.  This is the first Pileated Woodpecker I have seen in my three months of living in Florida.

Pileated Woodpeckers are among the larger of the woodpeckers.  Like most woodpeckers, the Pileated Woodpeckers like Oak Trees a lot.  Oaks provide Acorns as well as a variety of insect larvae and also sometimes provide shelter within hollowed-out tree trunks for these birds.  There are many Live Oaks in my neighborhood.  I had only seen a Downy Woodpecker here but my hubby has heard the distinctive call of the Red-headed Woodpecker so I expect that this Pileated Woodpecker has woodpecker companions of several kinds.  I took these pictures on June 25, 2013 from my front yard.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (59)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (61)Wineburgh-Lillienfield Family Unknown (58)

Comments on: "Woodpecker Wednesday – A Pileated Woodpecker" (10)

  1. oh, glad you have them there! awesome birds!

  2. I am glad you are seeing the Pileateds there, they are awesome birds! Great shots ! Have a great day!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, I am very glad that these woodpeckers are around and have decided that my neighborhood is a nice place to visit (or stay). Have a wonderful day!

  3. We have the Pileateds and they are really spectacular to see!!! Huge and stunning. If they see you, they will go round to the other side of the tree.

    • Hi Ginny, Well said. I am careful to try not to disturb the birds and critters I take pictures of. Yes, these are shy beautiful birds. Have a super great day!

  4. I’m glad that you have your woodpeckers there in Florida! I love this guy’s top knot! What a badge of distinction!

    • Hi Montucky, I was sitting eating a bowl of cereal for breakfast when I looked out my living room window and saw the Pileated Woodpecker yesterday. Needless to say, I became quite excited and literally ran for the camera and gently tip-toed out my living room door. I probably was a funny sight to see. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  5. Great photos, I love that red tuft!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

