Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (67)

This tiny one inch-long tree frog climbed onto my living room window screen on Sunday night, August 11, 2013.  This frog was attracted by the light from my living room table lamp.  I don’t know what type of tree frog this individual is.  Properly identifying the frog is hard because of the very dim light.  The frog was sitting  motionless , clinging on the window screen at 9:00PM.

My living room vertical blinds are a golden-beige color and my window sill is covered with a yellow-colored ceramic tile.  The front porch light, which I turned on so I could better take the pictures, has a yellow bulb in it.   So, the true color of the frog  is difficult to see in that light.  The indoor view of the underside of the frog is below, on the right.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!  P.S.  Thanks so much for all of your good thoughts and well-wishes on my recent cold.  I am feeling a lot better!

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (68)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (69)

Comments on: "A Tree Frog on the Window Screen" (10)

  1. they are SO adorable! such tiny little marvels.

  2. Hi, I’m back after taking a week off to celebrate my birthday. Sorry that you haven’t been feeling good. Glad you are better…

    Cute little frog… I never see frogs here… Not sure whether we have them in the Glade or not… In my childhood home in VA, we had lots of frogs around…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Happy so say that I am a lot better. My hubby had a nasty cold with an ear infection and I had only a mild cold but it all did keep me rather housebound for several days. Have a great Tuesday tomorrow!

  3. He is CUTE! And his feet are almost translucent!!

  4. What a cutie! Does he have suction cups on his feet. Great sighting! Have a happy week!

    • Hi Eileen, Yes, I think that the frog has small suction type pads on its feet. I have two large and one medium-sized trees close to the house here. I also have shrubbery really close to the porch, so it is not hard to imagine how the frog came onto the porch. Have an excellent Tues. tomorrow!

  5. What a cute little nipper! We have some too on the north side of the house. They are cute and fascinating!

    • Hi Montucky, I never had Tree Frogs around until I lived here – all were way far from the house in TN and TX, with none at all in CA. Interesting critters. Glad you have them there in your area. Have a fine day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

