Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (82)

A Red-bellied Woodpecker was busy pecking at the bark of a large Live Oak in a neighbor’s front yard a few houses down from my home yesterday.  I was surprised to hear that unmistakable “chuff-chuff-chuff” call.  I knew that a Red-bellied Woodpecker was up in the tree above me.  I searched for the elusive bird which played peek-a-boo going up and around branches into the heavy thicket of leaves and back.

This bird is an older juvenile or it is a small adult in molt.  The bird was looking for insects or Acorns, which it would eat now and cache away for later.  This is the first Red-bellied Woodpecker I have seen on my street in the five months I have lived here.  I took these pictures on Sunday, August 18, 2013 from the street.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photograph.  Enjoy!

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (83)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (85)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (84)

Comments on: "A Red-bellied Woodpecker in a Live Oak" (9)

  1. it is because of you that when i hear that ‘chuff-chuff’ as you’ve described it many times, that i smile. 🙂

  2. Yes, the Red-bellied (like the Pileateds) make themselves known when they are nearby……I have some new suet (made with peanut butter) –and many many of my birds love it… Even the Bluebirds eat it…. Amazing… (I may have already mentioned this to you yesterday…. Sorry.)

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. He has quite the handsome stripes!

    • Hi Ginny, Yes, the barring on the woodpecker is beautiful. I am still hoping to see more woodpeckers in my extended neighborhood. Have a fantastic Tuesday tomorrow! Thanks for your always insightful and kind comments!

  4. I bet it was nice for you to discover one at your new home. I know how much you love the woodpeckers!

    • Hi Montucky, Yes, I certainly do! I even went out and took pictures of the Red-head colony this evening. Saw a Great Horned Owl (really bad pictures as the sun was behind the bird and it was twilight). Have a super great Tuesday tomorrow!

  5. You have some great birds at your new place. I love all the woodpeckers and I love to hear their sounds. My woodpeckers love the peanuts and suet. Have a happy day!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

