Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Wetlands Overlook

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (63)

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (61)

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (59)

This is the Paynes Prarie State Park, and it is several miles South of Gainesville, Florida,  near a town called Micanopy.  The part of the park where we were, is a fresh-water wetlands.  We had pulled off the highway (not the I-75 freeway which is close-by) to see a park overlook.  This stop was an un-planned, very quick visit.  We went out on a wooden boardwalk over the swampy landscape,  and viewed several Great Egrets, two Little Blue Herons, and one Great Blue Heron.  That Great Blue Heron stood stock-still and almost looked like a statue during the ten or so minutes we were out watching the birds.

The birds were a long way from this boardwalk so it was a good thing I had my long zoom lens!  I also saw a Red-shouldered Hawk perched in an old tree across the highway, and a Turkey Vulture flying overhead.  I have read that this park has quite a lot of wildlife.  This is a park I definitely want to return to.  I took these pictures on August 31, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail images to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (60)

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (58)

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (62)

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (55)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (56)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (57)

Comments on: "A Wetlands Overlook" (9)

  1. I noticed Florida has a lot of parks and preserve. Great habitats for the birds and wildlife! I enjoyed this post and your photos of the heron, egrets and the cool hawk.

    • Hi Eileen, I wished I had been closer to those birds but birds do what they need to do, where they need to do it. I think that the boardwalk is nifty in spite of the birds staying a long way off. Yes, the State of Florida is great about having lots of wild parks. Have a great coming week!

  2. love the greens and the blooms! pretty area.

    • Hi Theresa, We were only at this park just a few minutes and were not in the main area of the park at all. I sure do want to see the primary areas some day soon. Yes, it is a lovely place. Swamps are beautiful in many places. Have a wonderful coming week!

  3. What an amazing trip, I would love to go here!!!

    • Hi Ginny, My husband and I were meandering North from our city and heading on the back road to Gainsville. We first went to a lake area where some Sand Hill Cranes and an African Crowned Crane had been spotted. No, we did not see the cranes. That African Crane is likely an escapee from elsewhere but reportedly has been out in the wild quite a while. So we did have our adventure that day! Glad we did! Have a great Tues. Hope you are feeling fine.

  4. Hello! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! Be sure to check it out at http://joshsuich.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/the-liebster-award/

    • Hi Josh, Many thanks! It will be an interesting time to try and round up some ten blogs – most of my blogger friends have made their policy, thank you for the kind thought, but I do not do awards. So, yes, thanks for your nomination and I will certainly try. Have a really nice Tuesday!

  5. That looks like a pretty area with a lot of promise. You should have fun exploring it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

