Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (33)

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (35)

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (34)

A Red-bellied Woodpecker, a Downy Woodpecker, and a Red-headed Woodpecker are the subjects of todays woodpecker extravaganza!  I took these pictures from my front yard (Red-bellied and Downy) and at the area near the front gate of this development (Red-headed) which is within a small pasture on the nearby ranch.

I was especially happy to have seen the little white and black female Downy Woodpecker here.  It was just visiting.  I had seen the Red-bellied Woodpecker here a few times in the last few months.  I am just wild about woodpeckers!  I took these pictures on two days last month.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (36)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (38)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (40)

Comments on: "It’s Another Woodpecker Wednesday!" (10)

  1. i know you love them. 🙂

  2. The Redheaded are the ones I love! Today for the first timethis fall, our Woody woodpecker came back to peck on our bedroom window just like he does each fall. I do think our window must have termites or something good and juicy, else why would he come back every fall?

    • Hi Ginny, Birds are smart. I also am guessing that the bird enjoys the sound of the drumming it makes on the glass or on the house siding or frame of your window. Could also just like you. So glad your friend or its descendants have come back home. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. I love all the woodpeckers. Great sightings and photos. Have a great evening and week ahead!

    • Hi Eileen, Happy to share the woodpecker joy! By the way, my husband and I just spotted a small flock of six juvenile American White Ibis. I’ll blog about them in a few days. Have a great Thursday tomorrow!

  4. You are very lucky to have them. There are flickers here now, but all of the others have left.

    • Hi Montucky, Would you believe that Flickers are the woodpeckers I have not seen here? Glad you still have some woodpeckers around. Have a fine Friday today and a great Sat. tomorrow.

  5. Very nice pictures – we have no woodpeckers in Australia, which is a shame as I used to have the in my garden in the UK and I miss them!

    I run a “linky” called Wild Bird Wednesday on my blog for bird posts – it stays open from Wednesday to Saturday and you would be more than welcome to join in!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Hi Stewart, Welcome! So happy that you previously had seen woodpeckers. I did not know that Australia does not have any woodpeckers. Thanks for the interesting information about Wild Bird Wednesday. Thanks! Have a great day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

