Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

An Eastern Towhee

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (51)

This Eastern Towhee was perched on the electric line near the ranch area I like to visit where there are a lot of Red-headed Woodpeckers.  The Eastern Towhee is about the size of a Bluebird or Cardinal.  Although Eastern Towhees are good at catching insects,  they will also eat seeds and fruits at times.

The Eastern Towhees are handsome-looking birds with a white breast, rust-colored sides, and black head neck, wings and tail..  They have yellow eyes.  The bird shown in these pictures was likely just pausing to rest a bit and do a little preening (grooming).  I took these pictures at twilight, back on August 19, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

Wildlifewatcher's Blog (52)Wildlifewatcher's Blog (53)

Comments on: "An Eastern Towhee" (11)

  1. lucky you! i’ve never seen one in person.

    • Hi Theresa, I have been out of town for a couple of days. Getting back home late this afternoon, we went right by where I had spotted this bird. No, I did not see it or any other at the area just then. Was up North at Jacksonville, Florida. Went to the beach and did a bit of sight-seeing. Great salt-water marshes near the Inter-Coastal Waterway. Not much going on at the beach though. Fun trip! Glad I’m home now. Have a great Thursday tomorrow.

  2. The Towhee is a favorite of mine! Great sighting, Linda! Have a great evening and week ahead!

    • Hi Eileen, We have just returned home from a mini vacation up North in Jacksonville, Fl at the beach there. I was just thinking of you this AM when we went to a river marsh area and I took some pictures of an Osprey! Have a tremendously nice Thurs. tomorrow!

  3. I love Towhees —and love their ‘call’….. I’ve never seen one in our area here –but maybe they are here and I just haven’t seen them…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, The only time I ever saw a Towhee at my home at the lake there in the Glade, was in the Winter when it snowed. Had one on the porch huddling away from the snow and wind. Have a super good day tomorrow and thanks for your comments!

  4. These are very good pictures, and you can for sure tell what this bird is! I have seen one one time, many years ago, and at first mistook it for a robin.

  5. They are pretty birds, quite a bit different from the Spotted Towhees that we have here. These guys love sunflower seeds and are always around our feeding station.

    • Hi Montucky, I have never fed these Towhees here but I bet they do like Sunflower Seeds. Most seed eating birds do. Glad you have Towhees where you live. A cousin of these Towhees lives in California, too! Have an excellent day tomorrow and thanks for the great comment!

  6. I like these birds a lot- glad this one sat out in the open for your camera!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

