Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Lone Little Blue Heron

DSC_5851

This adult Little Blue Heron was hunting at the small pond near one of the golf courses here in the development where I live.  This is the same pond where I had seen some juvenile Ibises several days ago.  The Little Blue Heron is a smaller heron.  Juveniles are often white but the adults are a purple blue.  Sometimes, juvenile Little Blue Herons will mix-in with adult American White Ibises or with Snowy Egrets.

The Little Blue Heron wades along mostly fresh water or brackish water shores, and eats frogs, tadpoles, turtles, fish, and a variety of aquatic insects.    I took these pictures early in the evening,  on Sept. 16, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger photo.  Enjoy!

DSC_5853DSC_5868DSC_5857 (1)

Comments on: "A Lone Little Blue Heron" (10)

  1. so pretty. hope i get to see one some day.

  2. What an interesting bird to find! I have never seen a Little Blue, only the bigger Great.

    • Hi Ginny, I had not ever seen a Little Blue Heron until I moved to Florida. I seldom see these birds in this development but I was happy to have seen this one and the other juveniles (the white ones I posted about a few days back). Have a super Thurs. tomorrow!

  3. The little blue heron is one of my favorites! LOL, I have so many favorites. Great sighting and photos. Have a great evening!

    • Hi Eileen, I like these rather striking herons also. Always something new to see around here. I try to check the various ponds a few times every week. It has been windy and a bit rainy here so bird watching happened yesterday. Have a good day tomorrow!

  4. I love the little Blue Heron… You are really getting to see many new birds in FL aren’t you????? But–I’ll bet you will miss Tennessee especially in Fall… Such a beautiful place this time of year.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, Yes, the Hickories and Dogwoods will be missed. We have Sycamores and Live Oaks here on the street where I now live so we do have a very limited taste of Fall coming someday later in the year. Sort of like how it was back in Southern Calif. I expect. Yes, I will miss the crisp weather and fall colors. Have a super good day tomorrow!

  5. I haven’t seen these either. Did see a Great Blue fishing just up river yesterday though. THey should be leaving here for the winter shortly.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

