Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Female Kestrel?

DSC_6681This may be a Kestrel, and likely a hen.  I saw this little Falcon perched high up in a large old Pine at the ranch pasture near one of the development’s gates.   I took these pictures in the early evening.  This pasture is where I had previously seen Red-headed Woodpeckers, a Great Horned Owl, a Pileated Woodpecker and several Towhee birds.  That area is a really good spot for bird watching due to there being open ranch-land, a golf course, and a large, mature Oak forest nearby.

Kestrels are small Falcons that are birds of prey.  They hunt for rodents, birds, bird’s eggs, lizards, and frogs.  They are beautiful birds!  This is the first Kestrel I’ve seen here in Florida.  I am glad to have seen this bird and hope to come across Kestrels again here.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!  P.S. I will be taking a blog break this coming week.  So I’ll be back in fine form with new posts then.

DSC_6690DSC_6692DSC_6694

Comments on: "A Female Kestrel?" (10)

  1. i love these tiny raptors. so cute. enjoy your blog break!

  2. I agree, it is for sure a kestrel. Why do you think it is a female? It looks a bit like the males I have seen. It has the same color patterns. Come to think of it, I don’t really know the difference between these males and females. I only know that the males are much more colorful.

  3. Oh gosh, has my comment been lost? I don’t see anywhere that you have started moderation…

  4. O.K. now i see it! Last night, blogger was doing some weird things again.

  5. The Birding Bunch said:

    I am glad you got to see one. Yes, it is a female. I sure miss ours. We had seen some nearby until harvest, but now they’ve moved on. South, I presume.

    Enjoy your time away and God bless you.

  6. Very cool sighting of a beautiful little bird! I haven’t seen one here in several years.

  7. The kestrels are cool birds. Great sighting!

  8. Indeed a kestrel.Right now they are visiting my country , migration 🙂
    lovely write up and images .
    To follow my work rahulsarkale.wordpress.com/
    regards
    Rahul

    • Hi Rahul, Sorry it took so long for me to find and approve your kind comments! I had been away on a cruise without real Internet connectivity for nearly 12 days. Have a wonderful day today and thanks for your helpful comment.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

