Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Northern Mockingbird

DSC_6272

The Northern Mockingbirds have arrived here in recent weeks.  Nature’s master mimics love to sing a huge number of convincing songs.  These birds can learn the calls and songs of the birds around them.  They are quite convincing and I have been fooled several times.  The Mockingbirds are smaller mid-sized birds, that are nearly as large as the Blue Jays.

Mockingbirds eat insects, fruits, and nuts.  They can be argumentative with other birds at times.  I often see  Mockingbirds up on the top of stop signs or light poles.  They seem to like viewing the vicinity and scouting for other birds and for food.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_6267DSC_6262DSC_6270 (1)

Comments on: "A Northern Mockingbird" (8)

  1. i love these gifted singers and animated dancers. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, no shortage of Mockingbirds in TX. I think that we have a pair right in this immediate neighborhood a couple of doors down from our home. The one I photographed here was about a mile from my home. Have a fine weekend!

  2. They are really talented, no doubt abut it! But I have been afraid of them ever since one attacked me at a mall. So I always steer clear!

    • Hi Ginny, I understand completely. I once had a male Brewer’s Blackbird attack me and pull out some of my hair – must have been nesting season or just a fluke. Have a wonderful day tomorrow and a nice Sunday, too.

  3. I love to hear the Mockingbirds! Great shots! Have a happy weekend!

  4. They are neat birds! I remember them from Arizona, but we don’t have any here; wish we did!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

