Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

A Flock of Cattle Egrets

DSC_7451

Hundred of Cattle Egrets visited this area yesterday.  The large white birds with yellow eyes and bill, and black feet, like to walk in grassy pastures.   The flock was on the ground milling around near one of the golf courses that borders the huge next-door ranch here.  I also saw Egrets in flight over some of the homes in the large development here where I live.

These Cattle Egrets are not yet in breeding colors and don’t have a faint orangish-brown color on the back of their head and neck and  sometimes on their undersides.  Cattle Egrets are a bit shorter than other Egrets such as the Snowy or Great Egrets.

The Cattle Egrets, following closely behind a herd of cattle.   That is why Cattle Egrets have that particular name.  They often eat insects found around and sometimes on the cattle.

This is the largest flock of Cattle Egrets I have seen!  I took these pictures yesterday afternoon here in the development where I live in Marion County, Florida.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_7504DSC_7475

DSC_7424

DSC_7458DSC_7433DSC_7392

Comments on: "A Flock of Cattle Egrets" (10)

  1. Interesting birds! I would think they are good for the cattle, too.

    • Hi Montucky, I think so. I have read about these birds and found that they serve as a help for cattle with regard to removing insects from on and around the cattle. Cattle Egrets serve an important function and are beautiful birds. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. i like watching the flocks when they arrive here and walk along with our horses in the pasture. 🙂

    • Hi Theresa, Yes, having your ranch gives you a really great chance to see Cattle Egrets. I enjoy seeing big wading birds of all kinds. They are amazing. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. We have tons of cattle and farms around here, yet I have never seen any of these, I would love to! But I don’t think I am hanging around barns to do it!

    • Hi Ginny, I think that you may have some come your way in late Spring through Summer. We even had Cattle Egrets up in Cumberland County, TN. Who knows? I hope you do get to see some. Have an excellent day tomorrow!

  4. I love all the different egrets, the cattle egrets are pretty when they have their brownish feather on top of their heads. Great shots! Wishing you a happy weekend!

  5. Very cool! This is something I don’t get to see in central Ohio here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

