Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Doves

DSC_7546

These Mourning Doves were spotted in various places around the development here where I live on December 15, 2013 just before and at  sunset.  These beautiful doves are sometimes seen perched on electric lines or walking around on the ground.  They love eating seeds, berries, nuts and fruits.  I really enjoy hearing their pleasant cooing.

The group of Mourning Doves roosting in the small tree, was just on the fringe of a dedicated wildlife area out-of-bounds to the public at one side of this development.  I took those pictures from the roadway.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_7592DSC_7596

DSC_7611

DSC_7613DSC_7612DSC_7603 - Version 2

Comments on: "Doves" (13)

  1. I love the Doves, Linda. I always worry about the hawks getting them around here… But luckily, I’ve never seen that happen…

    Merry Christmas.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  2. sweet birds. i like that sky shot with the colors behind them.

    • Hi Theresa, Thanks! I do too. By the way, we went up to Payne’s Prairie State Park and saw Sand Hill Cranes and other birds this afternoon. Pictures to appear here soon. Had a lot of fun. Have a great day tomorrow!

  3. I love having them around too. They are very pleasant birds.

  4. For the most part, ours have left for the winter. We do see them in other parts of Iowa in the winter. I am glad you get to see some.

    We have never seen our doves eat anything but seeds, even when we have nuts and berries set out. I did look it up and you are right. They may even eat snails, which I had never would have imagined.

    • Hi Birding Bunch, The Doves back up in TN at my place on the lake must have been hungry! Competition from the ducks and those squirrels! Ha! I had never heard of Doves eating snails. Thanks for your always nice comments! By the way, I got through half of a comment on your blog and oops, a freeze up & nothing so I left. Hope it was not awkward. Have a great coming week!

  5. We have these doves, they have a very soothing coo.But they are unable to walk without moving their heads…

  6. I love the sweet Mourning Dove, they are so cute. Mine are shy and take off when they see me looking at them. Have a happy week and thanks for the nice comment on my blog.

  7. I’m a big Mourning Dove fan- they’re attracted to the safflower seed that spills out of a feeder ball I have hanging on a bush by my front door. Great pictures, Wildlifewatcher!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

