Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

Egrets at Paynes Prairie

DSC_7773

These egrets were spotted during my recent visit to the Paynes Prairie State Park near Gainesville, Florida.  I am not sure which of the egrets these are.  Perhaps they are Great Egrets?  Hard to tell because the birds were a long way off in the distance.  I used my long zoom lens to take the pictures.  This Florida State Park has a huge area of freshwater marsh where many kinds of wading birds thrive.

I saw these egrets, a Great Blue Heron, and several Sand Hill Cranes during the hour I spent at one of the park overlooks just off of the highway.  I took these pictures on December 16, 2013.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!  Have a most wonderful Christmas!  I am taking Christmas day off and will be right back here on Friday with a new post.  See you then.

DSC_7774DSC_7778DSC_7776

Comments on: "Egrets at Paynes Prairie" (8)

  1. yes, i’d say great egrets as snowies would certainly show some yellow feet. 🙂

  2. Cool shots of the Great Egrets in flight. I agree with Tex’s id above. The Snowy Egret do have yellow feet. Have a happy day! And a very Merry Christmas!

  3. I hope you have a lovely Christmas, full of all kinds of birds. Maybe even a partridge in a pear tree…

  4. Have a Merry Christmas and a great holiday season!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

