Just another WordPress.com weblog about Nature and Wildlife

DSC_7893

Here are several different birds and a Grey Squirrel for good measure.  I took these pictures during Christmas week here in my neighborhood.  I note that our resident Crows did not do such a great job of keeping the street a “Hawk-free zone”.   I have been recovering from a cold so I did not get much bird watching in during the last few days.  I do hope to be outside in my neighborhood for bird watching and taking pictures in coming days.  Please click on the thumbnail image to see the larger picture.  Enjoy!

DSC_8068DSC_8043DSC_7886

DSC_8112 - Version 2DSC_8109DSC_8101

Comments on: "Critters Around the Neighborhood" (8)

  1. i hope you’re continuing to feel better!

    • Hi Theresa, The weather is rainy and windy and the birds are nowhere to be seen, so staying inside is a good thing both health-wise and bird spotting-wise. Thanks for your thoughtfulness. I’ll be fine soon! Have a super good day!

  2. Just sent you some photos from our area today…. Crazy winter!!!!

    As you can imagine, my birds are coming full-force to the feeders today. I am having trouble with some greedy Starlings this winter (which I’ve never had before)… BUT–the other birds are still getting their share.

    Great photos. Happy 2014.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    • Hi Betsy, I received your photographs via e-mail and was amazed at the low temperatures where you live (I still own property there so I do have interest in that area). Thanks! Gee, Starlings at your feeder. Hope they go onward and find wide-open spaces at the nearby ranches and farms. Have a wonderful day tomorrow. Stay warm and safe!

  3. Sure nice to have the critters around, isn’t it! That must be a paradise for birds this time of year! Glad you’re feeling better!

    • Hi Montucky, I did go out this afternoon and took several pictures of various small birds like warblers and wrens. Very chilly afternoon – high 40’s when I was outside. Forecast is for mid-20’s F. tonight! Yikes! Crossville, TN, where I moved from, was at zero degrees this AM with below zero wind-chills. Glad I’m here in FL.

  4. I hope you feel better soon! Love the cute Palm Warbler.. Great photos. Have a happy week!

    • Hi Eileen, Thanks! I am on the mend and ventured out this afternoon for just a few minutes (bundled up as it was brisk) to take pictures across the street at the rainfall retention pond area. Saw several warblers and got a few snapshots. I expect a cold night here. Have a great day tomorrow and stay warm!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

